Princess Cake & Monkey Cake

This past weekend was my daughter and son’s birthday party! Whew, it was a party! I am still exhausted! I will never do that again. You know how it goes when your from big families, you have to invite EVERYONE or someone will be mad. So, to keep the families from getting mad at us, we figured we would throw one big housewarming, Little Miss 4th birthday and Little Man’s 2nd birthday all at once. Little Miss’ birthday was a couple of weeks ago and Little Man’s is next week.

Before I share with you all the cakes I made this year, I would like to share the cakes from last year. It was Little Man’s first birthday and he LOVES bananas and monkeys, so what better theme?!?! I made one special smash cake for him to enjoy on his own. The only problem was…I shouldn’t have covered it in fondant. I should have covered it only in buttercream. It was kinda hard for him to tear through it and really get messy! Oh well, lesson learned! Plus, for his 1 year old pictures my friend made him a giant cupcake and we let him tear through that one and captured it all on film. We got some great pictures out of that.486709_4607609158638_2608490_n

Isn’t is so cute!! It is all edible too! (except the candle)

Little Miss got a small birthday party with just her friends here in town at the park. She wanted a princess cake. This is what I came up with. You will notice it is a bit crooked. I thought I was Cake Boss and decided I could trim the cake without my handy dandy Cake Slicer/Leveler. I just used a knife. HA HA I will never do that again! We live and learn, right?

553669_4417427604218_446845660_nThe pink layer has a quilted pattern on it that I did using my cutter/embosser.

. It was hard to capture it on camera. I had also lost a few of the sugar pearls. This cake is not one of my favorites. Too messy. 😦

Stay tuned to see what I came up with for their birthday parties this year!

Make sure and click on the “follow” botton on the right side of the screen to be notified of all new postings!

Happy Wednesday!!

Tagged: , , , , , ,

