Basketball Cake

Around this time last year I got a request from an old friend to make her daughter’s birthday cake for her 11th birthday. He daughter is a huge basketball fan and her favorite team is the Celtics.  This is what I came up with.

2012-08-11 12.47.23

Kya is her name and the number 4 is her number on her basketball jersey. The basketball and jersey are covered in fondant and the rest of the cake is buttercream.                       2012-08-11 12.46.26

When I first saw this idea I thought it would be very easy to do. Of course, this time around, my fondant was not cooperating with me. It kept on tearing and cracking. I really wanted the “folds” on the jersey to be pronounced.

My first attempt at the jersey just didn’t look good. Too small…too unrealistic. So with about 2 hours left on the clock….I re-did the entire jersey. I re-made my fondant and started all over again on the jersey. With just 5 minutes to spare, I finished it up and my friend arrived for pick up. Whew that was a close one.

You just never know how your fondant will turn out…even if you follow the same recipe time after time!

The cake was hit! Kya loved it!

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

