Preschool Orientation

The time has come…my first baby is starting preschool. Little Miss had her preschool orientation this evening. She actually went to the classroom and played with the other kids while daddy, little guy and I stayed in the main hall with the preschool director. For the first time, she went into the other room and played without us practically forcing her to go and play. She did it all on her own. Little Miss really impressed us. I guess she really is growing up. 😦   She is very excited to start school. I am praying that the excitement doesn’t wear off once she starts going week after week. She will only be going 3 days a week for 4 hours a day but that is a big step for both of us since I have been home with her since she was born. Nearly 2 years ago I joined a MOPS group (Mothers of Preschoolers) ( http://www.mops.org/)  and she was able to go into a classroom and learn about God, do crafts, sing, read, play and most importantly, learn to socialize with other kids. Another really important thing she learned along the way was that momma always came back. That is was okay to be away from momma for awhile. The thing is, this separation was only for 2.5 hours every other week during the school year and I was just down the hall in the sanctuary. During preschool, she will be gone for 4 long hours 3 times a week and I will not be down the hall in case she needs me.

There were days that I could not wait for her to go to school. We both needed a break from each other. But now that the time has come, I am seeing that I really am not ready for her to go to school. I know it will be good for both of us but soon after preschool is Kindergarten then preteen and then teen. I feel that once she is in school full time, the years will fly by and my baby won’t be so baby anymore.

She starts school on Monday. Wish me luck and keep us in your prayers.

Tagged:

