My First Fondant Covered Cake

Happy Thursday everyone! I hope you all are having a great day! I mentioned in a previous post that I do cake decorating.  During the next few weeks I will be sharing with you all the cakes I have done.

I started cake decorating when my daughter turned 2. I have always found cake decorating interesting. I have an aunt who does it for a living and a very good friend who does it as a hobby. My true obsession started when I was pregnant and started watching the show Cake Boss. I thought the stuff he did with fondant (and buttercream) was amazing. That started my research on fondant and cake decorating as a whole.

I decided to make my daughter her cake for her 2nd birthday. This was pretty brave of me, since I was 1 month away from giving birth to my son and in the middle of potty training her. Her birthday is in August and nearing the end of my pregnancy in the hot heat of the desert of Albuquerque, New Mexico, I was very uncomfortable, had swollen feet and was HOT 24 hours a day. I did not feel adventurous enough to make my own fondant at this point. Off to Walmart I went and bought some Wilton pre-made fondant and had my friend make me some of her yummy tasting fondant. As this time, I had no idea what she made it out of, but it tasted much better than Wilton’s pre-made fondant. She did not color it for me. She told me she usually air brushes her colors on her fondant. That was out of the question for me. There was no way I was going to invest in an airbrush machine to make this cake. What if I didn’t like cake decorating after all? That would be a waste of money! I continued to research how to color the white fondant to the colors I wanted for my cake. Everything I found was going to be too time consuming. Remember, I am 8 months pregnant in the desert…

I ventured out to WalMart and found something that I thought would work perfect. It was Wilton’s Color Mist. http://www.walmart.com/ip/Wilton-Green-Color-Mist/24107822 Hey, it was airbrushing with a fraction of the cost! Woo hoo! Score! So this is what I ended up using for the cake. It was so easy to use. I loved it.

On the first 2 pictures you will see that I used too much buttercream under the fondant. That is what makes it look kinda lumpy. (for lack of a better word) The purple fondant is actually the white homemade fondant sprayed with the Color Mist. The green rope is also sprayed with the color mist.

Dora Cake 1 Dora Cake 2 Dora Cake 3

The stars, number, balls, dots, etc. where made out of the pre-made fondant by Wilton. http://www.amazon.com/Wilton-Primary-Colors-Fondant-Multi/dp/B0002JTGFE/ref=sr_1_fkmr0_2?ie=UTF8&qid=1375223580&sr=8-2-fkmr0&keywords=wilton+premade+fondant

Dora Cake 4 Dora Cake 5

Below, you will see the cutest centerpiece I have ever seen. My daughter’s Godmother made it for her!

Dora centerpiece

Matching cupcakes with Dora and Boots rings. You can get them from Amazon here. http://www.amazon.com/Dora-Explorer-Amigos-Cupcake-Rings/dp/B00162D4P4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1375223791&sr=8-1&keywords=dora+rings

Dora Cupcakes 1st try

Everything together at the party! Everyone loved it!  Lot’s of flaws in my first fondant covered cake but it was a blast making it!!

Dora Cake & Cupcakes

I hope you all enjoyed my post. Let me know if you have any questions at all!

Jeanette

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

